
 

EQUITABLE STROKE CONTROL 
 
 
 
 

Equitable Stroke Control (ESC) is a mandatory 

procedure that reduces high hole scores in order to 

make handicaps more representative of a player's 

potential scoring ability.  ESC applies to all scores 

including tournament scores. 
 
 

ESC is used when a player's actual or most likely score 

exceeds a maximum number, based on the table below, 

depending on the player's Course Handicap. 
 

 

Course Handicap Maximum Number on any 

Hole 

9 or less Double Bogey 

10 through 19 7 

20 through 29 8 

30 through 39 9 

40 or more 10 

 
There is no limit to the number of holes on which a 

player may adjust their score. 
 

WHAT SCORE DO I POST IF.......... 
 

Q - What score do I post if I am conceded a stroke? 

For example: Mary has a Course Handicap of 12, she 

receives a handicap stroke on the first 12 allocated 

handicap-stroke holes. She decides to quit after 

playing 14 holes due to rain. Holes 15, 16, 17 and 

18 are a par 5, 3, 4 and 5 and are allocated as 

number 2, 18, 10 and 12 handicap holes, 

respectively.  She would record an X6, X3, X5 

and X6 for those holes respectively. She can now 

post an 18-hole score. 
 

Q - What score do I post if I do not finish a hole? 
 

A - When you start, but do not finish a hole, you must 

record for handicap purposes your most likely score. 

The most likely score is the number of strokes 

already taken, plus the number of strokes you would 

need to complete the hole. 
 

The player must evaluate each situation based on 

what the player can reasonably expect to score. 
 

Q - What score do I post if I play a temporary green? 
 

A - If the hole’s character and playing length have not 

been altered and you can play the hole under the 

Rules of Golf, then you can post your actual score 

on the hole. Otherwise, you must post par, plus any 

handicap strokes you would be entitled to on that 

hole. 
 

Q - What score do I post if I play a mulligan?

A - If you are conceded a stroke, you would record         A - If you play a mulligan, you aren't playing under

your most likely score. The most likely score 

consists of the number of strokes already taken, plus 

in your best judgment, the number of strokes you 

would need to complete the hole from that position 

more than half the time. This most likely score 

should be preceded by an “X”, such as X6. 
 

The number may not exceed your ESC limit. 
 

Q - What score do I post for a hole not played? 
 

A - If you do not play a hole or play it other than 

under the Rules of Golf (except for preferred lies), 

the score for that hole for handicap purposes shall 

be par plus any handicap strokes you are entitled to 

receive on the hole. When recording this hole score, 

precede the score with an “X”. 

the Rules of Golf. However, you can still post the 
score. For handicap purposes, you treat it as a hole 

not played and record a par plus any handicap 

strokes you would have received. When recording 

this hole, precede the score with an “X”, such as X5. 


